Heroes Are People, Too

Terry Funk and I at the Cauliflower Alley Club Reunion

Terry Funk and I at the Cauliflower Alley Club Reunion

I have been lucky enough to meet a great many of the heroes I had growing up.  And with few exceptions, none of them have disappointed.  As a matter of fact, most of them have impressed me, actually.  A great many of these guys are, in wrestling circles, very well known public figures.  Whenever they’re around “regular” people or even lesser known wrestlers, inevitably, someone always wants something — an autograph; a picture; a handshake; or to talk about the last time they met, six years ago outside the Holiday Inn in Schenectady with 17 other people.

For the most part, all of these men and women have been patient, gracious, friendly, and accommodating.  I asked Adam Copeland about it at the Cauliflower Alley Club Reunion in April.  He was only able to be there for Wednesday afternoon and evening and was, at one point, constantly surrounded by autograph seekers for nearly an hour.

“You pretty much have to expect that in this situation,” he shrugged.

I suppose it’s better like that than in a restaurant as you’ve got a forkful of food headed for your mouth.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have also seen some of these guys be short with autograph seekers.  Mostly when it’s an inappropriate time to be asking for their autograph.  Like when they’re clearly on the way to the bathroom.

I once heard Oprah Winfrey explain that the only difference between “regular” people and “famous” people was that, when you’re famous, more people know your name.  And in my experience, that’s true.  Talking with a lot of these guys, you come to realize very quickly that, quite simply, they’re people, just like you and me.  They have insecurities, pressures over work, bills to pay, and families back home who miss them.

Jake “The Snake” Roberts’ acceptance speech at the CAC Reunion this year illustrates this point perfectly.

Had my wife and I in tears.  I spoke with Jake after the banquet and told him so.

“That wasn’t my intention,” he told me.

The thing is, we weren’t crying because of what he said.  We were crying because after all the very public, self-destructive behavior, it’s very gratifying to see him finally turning his life around.  But, I couldn’t tell that to Jake.  He’d already walked away.  It was an very emotional night for him and he just wanted to be left alone.

No problem.

Leave a comment